I am grateful for all the kind words about the books. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. W ^v^

5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT book that kept my attention as I couldn't put ...

After reading Mr. Mallows first book I didn't know what to expect from Book II of the Vampyre Tales "Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary". A modern day Vampyre Tale filled with much tragedy and suspense!!! An EXCELLENT book that kept my attention as I couldn't put it down!!! If there ever was a book series made for television, this is it!!!! Please remain writing Mr. Mallows, I'm looking forward to your next book!
 
Date of Posting: 20 August 2014
Posted By: Bruce Duncan
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - 5 out of 5 stars, Amazon
Whitechapel Road, is in my opinion a MUST read for anyone interested in not only the unsolved antics of the infamous "Jack the Ripper" but the dark realm of Vampires as well. What impressed me so much with this book is the extensive research that flowed throughout. The story was gripping and I plan to read the entire series. The story line is impressive and the characters well written. Five stars! Get writing! I want more Sir!
 
Date of Posting: 10 August 2014
Posted By: Cassidy C. O'Connor
Whitechapel Road - 5 out of 5 stars, Amazon
Talented Author

Wayne Mallows is great at character development, research and the story-telling process itself. He makes it easy to be affected by all characters, both major and minor. I can picture him sitting in his haunted mansion late at night, crafting a story.
 
Date of Posting: 03 April 2014
Posted By: CatdaBrat
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - 5.0 out of 5 stars, Amazon
Bloody streets of London

Absolutely loved this book. Wayne Mallows puts a fresh spin on a old story that constantly keeps you on your toes and wanting more.
 
Date of Posting: 16 November 2013
Posted By: Brandon
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - 5.0 out of 5 stars, Amazon
I just finished "Mary, Mary", the 2nd book of the "Vampyre Tales". I have to tell you, I really enjoyed the first one, but the 2nd one was even better!!!!! Twists and turns and your interest is kept from the beginning right until the end. Sooner or later someone is going to make a great movie out of this. If there is anyone out there who is involved in the movie business, this is a no-brainer!

I have only one complaint; I have to now wait for the 3rd book!

Bravo Wayne!
 
Date of Posting: 14 November 2013
Posted By: Steve Cummings
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary, Via The Haunted Yard
I recently finished reading Mary, Mary Quite Contrary by Wayne Mallows, the second installment in the Whitechapel Road series. It was one of those fabulous rare novels that transports you from your favorite reading nook to another time and place. I was hooked from the very beginning and while I couldn't wait to read more, I didn't want it to end. The characters really grabbed my attention and I was not expecting the twists I enjoyed along the journey. While sadly every good story must end, I understand there is another one in the works and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. My favorite reading nook awaits…
 
Date of Posting: 24 October 2013
Posted By: Michelle Strazzeri
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary, Via Facebook Message
From the title alone, one knows in broad strokes where this book is headed, but none-the-less, the journey to get there is a lot more interesting than I initially suspected it would be.

A Vampire tale in the Victorian Tradition, indeed set in the Late Victorian period obviously, it follows a somewhat familiar narrative, if given some interesting twists. The vampiric attack. The victim who becomes a monster. It also features some of the better elements of good crime drama; the cat and mouse game between investigator and killer for example.

While not bringing any new brilliance to the genre, and treading grounds already well trod, the book manages to be highly enjoyable and brings something enjoyable to both the Vampire genre and the 'Ripper' mythology. It's 'solution' to the latter is actually rather intriguing, not in any sense of reality, but in that it makes sense with the available information we have and the context of the world built within the novel.

Solid book for Vampire, Murder, Crime and Victorian era fiction fans.
 
Date of Posting: 23 October 2013
Posted By: Wise_owl
Whitechapel Road, Via Goodreads
Two great books for those tired of “Sparkly Vampires”

The two books in question (with a third on the way) are Whitechapel Road; A Vampyre Tale and Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary. by author Wayne Mallows.

Whitechapel Road, A Vampyre Tale will transport you to 1800′s England and quickly have you immersed in the characters. Wayne’s research for this story is quite impressive which in turn helps take the reader deeper into the depths of a troubling time. I found myself anxiously following the story as it continued to twist an already amazing plot.

Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary is the second in the series and as before you are rapidly brought into the world through the eyes of the characters. This continuation of the story, unlike so many, is as good or better than the first. The characters develop right before you. Taking you in deeper into their stories. Making you empathize with their plight.
 
Date of Posting: 02 October 2013
Posted By: Trevor Baldwin
Whitechapel Road; A Vampyre Tale and Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary, Via The Haunted Yard
http://thehauntedyard.wordpress.com/2013/10/02/two-great-books-for-those-tired-of-sparkly-vampires/
I was extremely proud and excited to learn that Wayne was going to publish some of his work. In all the years I have known Wayne I couldn't help but sit, like a kid at story time, and listen to him. I would become completely absorbed in the every detail. Wayne has this innate ability to describe an environment, an emotion, essentially paint a picture so vivid you feel like you could be right there in the story. When you pick up and read his first book Whitechapel Road, the characters and plot hook you. Mary, Mary Quite Contrary then takes you for a spin. The twists and turns in this book keep the pages turning. You may think you have the answer but in the end, I bet you don't. Book three couldn't come fast enough.
 
Date of Posting: 01 October 2013
Posted By: Cat McFadden
Whitechapel Road; A Vampyre Tale and Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary, Via Facebook Message
From stark and gripping cover art to an instantly intriguing tale written in the Olde English sense of history and time, I was captured from beginning to end with this novel. I wasn't sure what genre I was getting into until well beyond the first chapters and then the book exceeded my expectations given I wasn't prone to reading mysteries or thrillers. This book genuinely transcends classic genres; anyone enjoying gothic, mysteries, thrillers, supernatural, vampire or historic fiction tales would delight in this story. The depth of realism that Mallows portrays eloquently demonstrates his research and insight into both the time period and for plausible fiction. Highly recommended!
 
Date of Posting: 18 September 2013
Posted By: Katy Austin
Whitechapel Road - 5 out of 5 stars, Amazon

<< Start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last >>

Page 2 of 6


Submit A Book Review
* fields are mandatory.
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Review for which book:
Website if your review is online.:
Security Code:
Enter Code Here:*
Post your review below.:*
Back to Top