I am grateful for all the kind words about the books. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. W ^v^

This book was well worth it's weight! A big book might scare people. But please don't put this one down. It was a BRILLIANT book! As usual Wayne kept me guessing what was going to happen next. And even when I thought I knew what was going to happen I was wrong! And I loved that! There were some "love" scenes" or if you like, "sensual" ones that were very erotic. As with books 1 and 2 He kept me wanting more. But the end of this book was GREAT! It left me looking forward to the rest of this story. And I advise you to stick around 'cause it's going to be a wild ride!
 
Date of Posting: 13 April 2016
Posted By: Vicki Thomson
Unnatural Selection: Book III of the Vampyre Tales
It's no secret that I've been hooked on Wayne's Vampyre Tales since the start. Unnatural Selection helps us bridge the time between Whitechapel Road and Mary, Mary. The time as Aremis grapples with life as he has come to know it, being alone, and finally love. While it is a big read there isn't a thing I'd want cut and I was disappointed when it was over. As it is with the Vampyre Tales, they always leave you wanting more. I can hardly wait for book four!
 
Date of Posting: 11 January 2016
Posted By: Alison Meeks
Unnatural Selection: Book III of the Vampyre Tales
His book is so descriptive you can vision it without droning on too much. I have read so many vampire books I was worried it was going to be another one of those girl meets vamp thing lol but far from it great story combined with actual history.
 
Date of Posting: 29 December 2015
Posted By: Tracy
Whitechapel Road; A Vampyre Tale
OMG!!!! That is what I have to say about Unnatural Selection. This is another phenomenal work of art from Wayne. It was quite an emotional ride, I couldn't put it down. Keep up the amazing work!!!!!
 
Date of Posting: 15 September 2015
Posted By: Kim Browes
Unnatural Selection
Six Years ago I came across Wayne Mallow’s book White Chapel Road – A Vampyre tale and I fell in love with the tale of Aremis. That book is among my favorites and has a special spot on my book shelf. Unnatural Selection is Book Three in the series and it’s not just amazing…it is truly BRILLIANT!!! Wayne Mallow’s is one of my favorite vampire authors. Wayne can tell a story and it’s like you are in the room watching everything unfold. I know I probably have said that before but it is true. In the third book we have Aremis and Bethany’s emotional roller coaster ride. And you know who…J!!! I cannot get enough of Jacquelyn. She is my favorite character. I often wonder if she would befriend me or flat out kill me. There are so many faces of Jacquelyn. If you love Vampire stories, you really need to give the first book White Chapel Road a Vampyre Tale a try. Mary, Mary Quite Contrary is the 2nd book and then Unnatural selection. I am giving this book five stars because it has everything you would want in a vampire tale and more. I am eagerly waiting for Book four!
 
Date of Posting: 15 September 2015
Posted By: Darlene Petracca-Ruiz
Unnatural Selection
This book was amazing. It was gripping, and held me to the edge of my seat. In fact both books did, though the second one is my favourite of the two. The jump between eras from book 1 to book 2 was totally unexpected, but very cool especially with the curve balls that were thrown in. I did not want to put down the book at all until it was finished. I finished it in a week, because work and chores got in the way.

I can't wait for my copy of the third instalment, can't wait to find out what happens, and how the first two tie into the third.
 
Date of Posting: 09 June 2015
Posted By: Riva Khadan
Mary Mary Quite Contrary
Meet Aremis. He's idealistic, naive, and lacks self-awareness. Being turned into a vampire doesn't obstruct or destroy these traits, but what does become apparent as he struggles to understand his new existence is that being a vampire tests his ethics and morals. His unwillingness to be less than human is what drives his story. His sister, Temperance, has the strength and nerve to show Aremis what he has become and to help him on his way to London, where he hunts the streets. There he finds himself on the heels of another killer, the notorious Jack the Ripper.

The story flows well and is written in the style of language from the mid 1800's. Combined with the historical detail and references of London in that time, I found it very easy to immerse myself in the setting of the story. The characters of Aremis and his sister, Temperance, are well done, as well as other minor characters. As for the primary antagonist, I found the character a little flat and her motivations unconvincing.

I don't normally comment on the errors in the text or interior design, but I found there were a few too many errors in the text, the kind that require a proofreader. But perhaps these have been fixed already and appear in the ebook edition. Also, if you suffer from astigmatism like I do, I advise to purchase the ebook edition. The font in the print edition, while I understand the choice (it suits the atmosphere/tone of the book perfectly), is difficult to read for any length of time.

Otherwise, I enjoyed the story. I found it refreshing that given the subject matter of Jack the Ripper, it could have easily become gratuitously graphic, but instead remained more candid with the handling of the graphic moments.
 
Date of Posting: 29 December 2014
Posted By: Kit Daven
Whitechapel Road from GoodReads rated 4 out of 5 stars
Last evening I finally finished Book ll of the Vampyre Tales Mary, Mary. I thought the first book was very well written in a style that was not only easy to read but captivating. However, the 2nd book was a roller coaster ride of subtle twists and turns, a surprise at every bend. This book grabs you and doesn't let go, it is nothing short of literary genius. Congragulations Wayne on 2 superb books. I am patiently awaiting the 3rd!
 
Date of Posting: 21 October 2014
Posted By: Carryl Postma
Whitechapel Road and Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - From Facebook
Whitechapel Road-A Vampyre Tale was an awesome read! The story line was historically accurate (Jack ..., August 20, 2014

Whitechapel Road-A Vampyre Tale was an awesome read! The story line was historically accurate (Jack The Riper) and the book took me back to the cobblestone lanes of London, England circa 1880's. The characters came "to life" from the "stunning"opening until the conclusion of the book! FANTASTIC!!!! A Vampyre Tale like no other!!!!
 
Date of Posting: 20 August 2014
Posted By: Bruce Duncan
Whitechapel Road - 5 out of 5 stars, Amazon
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT book that kept my attention as I couldn't put ...

After reading Mr. Mallows first book I didn't know what to expect from Book II of the Vampyre Tales "Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary". A modern day Vampyre Tale filled with much tragedy and suspense!!! An EXCELLENT book that kept my attention as I couldn't put it down!!! If there ever was a book series made for television, this is it!!!! Please remain writing Mr. Mallows, I'm looking forward to your next book!
 
Date of Posting: 20 August 2014
Posted By: Bruce Duncan
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - 5 out of 5 stars, Amazon

<< Start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last >>

Page 1 of 6


Submit A Book Review
* fields are mandatory.
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Review for which book:
Website if your review is online.:
Security Code:
Enter Code Here:*
Post your review below.:*
Back to Top